Daniel Boone National Forest
  • Home
  • Downloads
  • Privacy Policy
  • Return to Portal
  • About Us

    About Daniel Boone National Forest:

    The Daniel Boone National Forest embraces some of the most rugged terrain west of the Appalachian Mountains. Steep forested slopes, sandstone cliffs and narrow ravines characterize the land.

    Spread across 21 counties of southern and eastern Kentucky, more than 708,000 acres of national forest system lands are managed within a 2.1 million-acre proclamation boundary. The forest is divided into four ranger districts: Cumberland, London, Redbird and Stearns. The forest is host to three Job Corps Centers.

    About Forest Service:

    Established by Congress in 1905, the Forest Service is a multi-faceted agency under the U.S. Department of Agriculture that manages and protects 154 national forests and 20 grasslands in 44 states and Puerto Rico–spanning 193 million acres of land, roughly the size of Texas. The agency’s mission is to sustain the health, diversity, and productivity of the nation’s forests and grasslands to meet the needs of present and future generations.

    The Forest Service has an elite wildland firefighting team and the world’s largest forestry research organization. Their experts provide technical and financial help to state and local government agencies, businesses, private landowners and work government-to-government with tribes to help protect and manage non-federal forest and associated range and watershed lands.

    Their work is augmented through partnerships with public and private agencies that help the Forest Service plant trees, improve trails, educate the public, and improve conditions in wildland/urban interfaces and rural areas, just to name a few. The team also promotes sustainable forest management and biodiversity conservation internationally.